Instruments

Current Long-Term Instruments at Summit

For details, refer to the 'Summit Station Year-Round Measurements' document which lists the current year-round measurements at Summit Station, the frequency of the measurements, and the best point-of-contact for further information

 
Project Instrument Point of Contact
ICECAPS Radiosondes (x2 day) Vaisala RS41-SG/SGP Matt Shupe
matthew.shupe@noaa.gov
Polar Atmospheric Emitted Radiance Interferometer (PAERI) Von Walden
v.walden@wsu.edu
Millimeter Cloud Radar (MMCR) Matt Shupe
matthew.shupe@noaa.gov
Microwave Radiometers (MWR); HATPRO and 150-90 Dave Turner
dave.turner@noaa.gov
Cloud Aerosol Polarization and Backscatter LIDAR (CAPABL) Ryan Neely
r.neely@leeds.ac.uk
Ceilometer Dave Turner
dave.turner@noaa.gov
Micropulse Lidar (MPL) Matt Shupe
matthew.shupe@noaa.gov
Precipitation Occurrence Sensor System (POSS) Matt Shupe
matthew.shupe@noaa.gov
Multi-Angle Snowflake Camera (MASC) Ralf Bennartz
ralf.bennartz@vanderb
IcePic Von Walden
v.walden@wsu.edu
SODAR Matt Shupe
matthew.shupe@noaa.gov
Total Sky Imager Von Walden
v.walden@wsu.edu
ICECAPS-ACE GRIMM 5.400 condensation particle counter (CPC) Ryan Neely
r.neely@leeds.ac.uk
Compact Lightweight Aerosol Spectrometer Probe (CLASP) Ryan Neely
r.neely@leeds.ac.uk
UC Davis Aerosol DRUM Sampler Tom Cahill/Nicolas Spada
njspada@ucdavis.edu
NOAA Meterology Lufft Ventus-UMB sonic anemometer NOAA GMD Met group
gmd.met@noaa.gov
Logan RTD NOAA GMD Met group
gmd.met@noaa.gov
Vaisala HMP155 NOAA GMD Met group
gmd.met@noaa.gov
Setra and Honeywell pressure transducers (2 instruments) NOAA GMD Met group
gmd.met@noaa.gov
NOAA In-Situ Flasks Carbon Cycle Greenhouse Gas (CCGC) Don Neff
don.neff@noaa.gov
Halocarbon and Atmospheric Trace Species (HATS) Steve Montzka
Stephen.a.montzka@noaa.gov
NOAA Aerosol Properties Nephelometer Patrick Sheridan
patrick.sheridan@noaa.gov
Besty Andrews
betsy.andrews@noaa.gov
Aethalometer Patrick Sheridan
patrick.sheridan@noaa.gov
Besty Andrews
betsy.andrews@noaa.gov
Continuous Light Absorption Photometer (CLAP) Patrick Sheridan
patrick.sheridan@noaa.gov
Besty Andrews
betsy.andrews@noaa.gov
Surface Ozone Irina Petropavlovskikh
irina.petro@noaa.gov
Besty Andrews
betsy.andrews@noaa.gov
NASA ICESat Bamboo Stake Array (accumulation) Thomas Neumann
Thomas.neumann@nasa.gov
Kelly Brunt
Kelly.m.brunt@nasa.gov
GPS Accumulation Traverse (1x/month) Thomas Neumann
Thomas.neumann@nasa.gov
Kelly Brunt
Kelly.m.brunt@nasa.gov
UNAVCO GPS base station Septentrio (TAWO)
GPS base station Trimble NetR8 (Green House)
Thomas Nylen
nylen@unavco.org
Trimble R7 roving GPS receiver Thomas Nylen
nylen@unavco.org
NASA SnowFox Upwards-looking in situ cosmic ray instrument (snow water equivalent) Ian Howat
howat.4@osu.edu
GC-Net Metereology RM Young propeller-type vane
Campbell Sci. CS-500 with Type E Thermocouple (temp and humidity)
Vaisala PTB101B (barometric pressure)
Type T thermocouple (snow temperature profile)
Campbell SR-50 (sonic snow depth)
Li Cor Photodiode (photodiode)
REBS Q* 7 (net radiation)
Konrad Steffen
konrad.steffen@wsl.ch
Guido Muller
guido.mueller@env.ethz.ch
http://cires1.colorado.edu/steffen/gcnet/
GC-Net upGPR upward looking GPR buried in the snow Konrad Steffen
konrad.steffen@wsl.ch
GC-Net Solar Tracker direct solar radiation (pyrheliometer; model unknown)
downwelling diffuse longwave radiation (Kipp and Zonen CG4 pyrgeometer)
downwelling diffuse shortwave radiation (Kipp and Zonen CM21 pyranometer)
downwelling hemispheric shortwave radiation (Kipp and Zonen CM21 pyranometer)
Konrad Steffen
konrad.steffen@wsl.ch
GC-Net Fixed Albedo Stand upwelling hemispheric longwave (Kipp and Zonen CG4 pyrgeometer)
shortwave (Kipp and Zonen CM21 pyranometer) radiation
Konrad Steffen
konrad.steffen@wsl.ch
CUGC Gas chromatograph (methane and VOC) Detlev Helmig
Detlev.helmig@colorado.edu
Picarro (CO, CO2, methane and water vapor) Detlev Helmig
Detlev.helmig@colorado.edu
GFZ Potsdam Broadband Seismometers (2) Angelo Strollo
strollo@gfz-potsdam.de
DTU Magnetometer Rico Behlke
rico.behlke@space.dtu.dk
DMI Meteorology AWS Jens Hansen
jqh@dmi.dk
FirnCover Draw-wire sensor (firn densification)
Snow accumulation
Temperature
Waleed Abdalati
waleed.abdalati@colorado.edu